Cheers: Wines of the (or my) holidays

Wines of choice this holiday season (so far):

1. Tamellini Soave 2004 ($12):Damn good
Over dinner with the girls Maggie, Kayla, and Peiyun. Our shared Italian meal was excellent – simple, yet flavorful and tasteful. Peiyun admired the Soave too, which incidentally, I have another bottle that’s sitting in my fridge. Made of 100% Garganega grapes, the wine is a light gold in color with a heady apple and apricot perfume. Strong, luscious mouthfeel and finish, an elagant wine.

Eat – seafood pasta

85500304_label.jpg

2. Domaine Weinbach Gewurztraminer Clos des Capucins Reserve Personnelle 750ml 2005 ($33)Damn good
This was one of the dozen bottles I picked up at the beginning of December, and actually, the most expensive one. Which was a little odd, considering my preference for reds, but the wine experts at Sams helped me put together my case, and they couldn’t help going on and on about the Alace wine. I broke it out last Thursday night, after a heavy dinner at Broadway Cellar with my favorite peeps who were in town. Peiyun wasn’t a fan though; I guess she didn’t quite enjoy the more restrained body with the slightest peppery finish. I thought it quite austere, a little chewy, and on hindsight, perhaps a wine better served with food.

Eat – asparagus methinks

p13910.jpg

3. Susan Balbo Malbec 2005 ($16)Damn good
We opened this last Friday, post-dinner at Barbareebas, when we were lounging on my landing, playing my various board games. Definitely an easy to drink wine; lots of fruit in the nose – blueberries, rasberries. Very lush, and complemented the sponge cake that the girls got for Peiyun’s belated birthday.

Eat – chocolate and rasberry cake

susanbalboamalbec__lg.jpg

4. Turnbull Cabernet Sauvignon 2005 ($47)Orgasmic
If the Malbec was a youthful, exuberant wine, then the Turnbull could be likened to as a more grown up version. The Cabernet wasn’t as packed heavy with fruit as the Malbec – it was a thinner, more svelte, and much sexier version. Think slinky silver dress with those long gloves. Alright, I know I’m over the top with my descriptions, but I stand by my point: the Turnbull was sultry. The first sip took me by surprise: it was smooth, silky, slid down my throat, and I was smitten. I brought it over to Sandy’s for Christmas eve, and yes, it went well with the smoked turkey.

Eat – turkey! Or even on its own

p14944.jpg

5. Clautiere Estate Viognier 2004 ($23)Damn good
I picked this bottle up on a whim over the summer. I remember the wine shop well: it was a small, boutique shop near UIC. We had stopped in after dim sum on Saturday afternoon, looking for some tastings, and I fell into conversation with the people working in the store. We gushed over viogniers, and she let me taste this one bottle. Last night, I popped the cork, rationalizing that no matter that I was alone at home, it was Christmas. A deep, golden yellow in color, it has a heavy nose of honeydew and melon. Thick, creamy body that just sits so right in your tongue, and rounded off with an earthy finish.

Eat – erm, I had it with instant noodles the first night, and then kebab the second. Mmm.

04cv1a.png

6 responses to “Cheers: Wines of the (or my) holidays

  1. MMMMMMMMMM….sounds delicious. I should spend more of my holidays with you. 😉

  2. haha, invite me to your xmas dinner next time!

  3. True true….but you would have had to wait until 8pm this time around 😀

  4. Pingback: Learn about wine » Blog Archive » Wines of choice this holiday season (so far): 1. Tamellini Soave …

  5. Pingback: Eat Your Heart Out Dorothy « Brain Toots

  6. Pingback: Birthday Dinner « Likely Edible

Leave a Reply

