Simple Pleasures: The Colonial Estate ‘Etranger’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2004

After work today, I stopped by the grocery store to grab some salmon. I frankly can’t remember the last time I actually stayed in to enjoy a home cooked meal, and I was quite looking forward to that.

Simple pleasures: I changed into comfortable t-shirt and sweats, ran the laundry through the washer, pulled out the leftover bottle of Colonial Estate ‘Etranger’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2004 from the fridge, and started dicing up the onions and mushrooms.

While the salmon was sauteing in the pan, I leaned against the countertop and sipped at my wine. It was a leftover from the blind tasting last Saturday. I have to say, I’m a little bit of a snob when it comes to leftover wines. I distrust the wine stoppers I have, and hence usually put the wines in the fridge as a further precaution. But then, I dislike drinking cold wine, especially reds, and taking the bottle out ahead of time to let it sit usually seems too much of a bother. I like to taste my pleasures now.

The cabernet, however, was surprisingly good. The blackcurrant nose was immediately noticeable, and the tannins under control. There was a hint of dark chocolate in the finish too. And it complemented very well with my peppery tender salmon steak, so much so that I could not resist refilling my glass, again and again.

I have to try do this more often: learn how to kick back and relax at the end of the day with a simple home cooked meal, a glass (or a couple) of wine, and a book.

The Colonial Estate ‘Etranger’ Cabernet Sauvignon 2004 ($30)

Sniff- Blackcurrant, citrusy

Sip- Very fruit forward, smooth, hint of dark chocolates

Eat- Had it with my peppery salmon steak, and it went well; I suspect it’ll go well with some marinara pasta too, and should be beautiful with some teriyaki beef on a grill (ah, the delights of summer)

Leave a Reply

