Queen for a Day

Ever since watching Marie Antoinette, I have been craving champagne and pastries dripping with frosting, berries, and whipped cream. There is a scene set to the song “I Want Candy” that showcases various lush fabrics, decadent desserts, and perfectly made up powdered faces pressing ravenously into each hand held cake. Mmmm….oh to be that powdered face biting into rich creaminess. Since I had to spend a good part of my day working on illustrations I decided it would be the perfect opportunity to nosh on something sweet and sip something bubbly. So I wandered over to the nearest Dunkin Donuts and ordered the Berry Berry donut, strawberry jelly donut with pink strawberry frosting encrusted with white chocolate bits. I whipped out a chilled bottle of Asti that had been waiting eagerly at the back of the fridge since January. The combination of the two was shockingly outstanding. Not one to indulge in donuts regularly, I usually don’t go for the sickeningly sweet jelly donuts when I do, but somehow this combo works. I didn’t feel instantly transported to Versailles, but with bubbling drink in hand and bright pink sweet in the other I did feel bit like a queen. ๐Ÿ˜€

Martini and Rossi Asti Spumanti (Italy) $10- Not Bad-Damn Good ๐Ÿ™‚

This fun fruity Asti is a regular favorite of mine. Given the price, its a pretty reasonable choice for something sparkling and pleasant to drink. It doesn’t knock one’s stinky socks off but it sure does hit the spot. With a sweet fragrance of citrus and apples with a taste to match and a nice clean finish, its sure to be a crowd pleaser at parties. It has a nice acidity so it really pairs nicely with desserts, especially more rich fruity ones. Carbonated and fun, this drink is like the cute girl next door..sweet, bubbly, and nice to have around.

Sniff- apples, fruity, bubble to tickle the nose

Sip- refreshing, light, clean, fruity, citrus, apples

Eat- dessert preferably a fruity sweet dessert or pastry, clean finish does well at cutting into buttery richness of a decadent pastry or greasiness of a donut. Would go perfect with brunch/breakfast food, can easily take the place of a mimosa

2 responses to “Queen for a Day

  1. Even though I’m not a big fan of sweets, I admit that the scene in the movie really gets your cravings going. I think I’ll have some of that asti and cake later tonight.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova « Likely Edible

Leave a Reply

