The Dregs: Sirloin Steak with Red Wine Sauce

img_1931.jpg

MMMM…Love those grill marks!

I couldn’t wait to use my new cast iron grill. So I found this simple recipe for steak with red wine sauce. The grill came preseasoned, heated evenly, and made great grill marks. The steaks came out just the right amount of pink and the red wine sauce didn’t hurt either. ;) I used an old $6 Cabernet Sauvignon that was opened a while back and really didn’t have much to it. However, it definitely had more flavor in sauce form.

Steak with Red Wine Sauce

2- 1 1/2 lb steaks
1/4 cup of olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
1 cup of red wine
1 cup of beef broth (or one beef boullion cube in 1 cup of hot water)
1 medium onion minced
2 cloves garlic minced
1 tablespoon of butter

1. Place steaks with olive oil, salt, and pepper in 1 gallon bag. Let marinate for a few minutes to hours
FOR SAUCE:
2. Heat medium sauce pan. Add onions and garlic, saute on medium heat until caramelized.
3. Add red wine to onions and garlic, reduce until wine just covers onions.
4. Add beef broth, reduce and let simmer while cooking steaks.
FOR STEAKS:
5. Heat up grill on medium high heat. Grill each side for approximately 7-10 minutes for medium doneness.
6. Let steaks rest for a few minutes with a tent of foil
TO SERVE:
7. Add butter to hot red wine sauce, let melt.
8. Pour sauce over steak and serve up…mmmmm.

5 responses to “The Dregs: Sirloin Steak with Red Wine Sauce

  1. where did you get that skillet? does it work better than other skillets? is that even a cooking skillet? ahhaha! I like this recipe because it seems easy to make and great sounding. I get a grip on meat from Celebrity Foods so I am always looking for additional way and new favorite ways to cook my meals. I will let you know how this turns out for me….thank you!

  2. I bought it from amazon. It’s the lodge dual grill/griddle. I think it heats more evenly than other skillets I have used, which helps a lot since I cook with an electric stove right now. :) I have added a link to the image of the griddle so you can check it out on amazon.

  3. Pingback: wine » Blog Archive » The Dregs: Sirloin Steak with Red Wine Sauce

  4. Pingback: So Good Blog/News Round-Up 1/22/08 | So Good

  5. I just made one for my dinner….
    Love it… :D

Leave a Reply

